Hanes Y Gadair
History Of The Chair

Nol I Dudalen Cartref Cystadleuaeth Y Gadair

Back To The Chair Competition Home Page


At each Cymdeithas Madog Cwrs Cymraeg since Cwrs Cymraeg Wisconsin in 1988, Cymdeithas Madog has held a competition in Welsh language literature composition. The topic and form (e.g., poetry, prose, etc) are announced during the cwrs, giving students only a few days to compose their entries. Despite the short amount of time given to the students (and the heavy demand of attending classes), the entries are of an extremely high standard. In order to preserve fairness, each competitor signs her/his entry with a "ffug enw" or "bardic name". The best entry each year, as judged by the teaching staff, is awarded the prized Cymdeithas Madog chair.

Cadair Cymdeithas Madog / The Cymdeithas Madog Chair

One of the most important and eagerly anticipated moments at every National Eisteddfod in Wales in the awarding of the chair to the winning bard in the strict meter competition. The chair is always crafted by a local artisan and reflects local tradition. The Cymdeithas Madog chair, commissioned by Mrs. Cassie Hughes of Bridgend, Wales, was carved by her brother, Huw Selwyn Owen. Mr. Owen, a master carver from North Wales (and a poet of distinction in his own right) was commissioned to make the official chair for the 1989 Llanrwst National Eisteddfod. The Cymdeithas Madog miniature chair was carved from the same wood, an oaken beam taken from a building dating from about 1400, as the Llanrwst National Eisteddfod chair. And like the Llanrwst chair, the back of the Cymdeithas Madog chair has a beautiful representation of the Llanrwst bridge.

Pont Lanrwst / The Llanrwst Bridge

Each year, this beautiful miniature chair is awarded to the winning bard in a formal chairing ceremony as part of the noson lawen ("talent evening"). The bard's name is engraved on a plaque on the back.

Plac Yr Enillwyr / The Winners' Plaque

Draig Cymdeithas Madog

© Cymdeithas Madog
17 May / Mai 2005

Problems or comments?
Contact the webmaster


Hanes Y Gadair/History Of The Chair